Because I Can

Completed Vanderpoel Study

Studying a master of the human form, I imitate one of Vanderpoel’s drawings while in my own mind, finishing what he started. The original drawing is on the link below.

http://www.amazon.com/Human-Figure-Dover-Anatomy-Artists/dp/0486204324

People will tell you that you can’t do things all the time, and I’ve heard this all of my life. Eventually one of two things will happen- you believe them to be true or you prove them wrong. As someone who aspires for great things and to do good I feel that my drawings are a reflection of that-trying to be perfect but ultimately falling short of the goal. Even so, each step brings change. Every mistake recognized is one less flaw.

For as long as I can I’d like to share my drawings and progression into that tried and true, respected area of art called realism and make it known that yes, I can do this. What about you? What have people told you you couldn’t do?

Image

Leave a Reply

